How Many Sly Cooper Games Are There?

Sly Cooper Thieves in Time Review The One Gaming Nation
Sly Cooper Thieves in Time Review The One Gaming Nation from

The Sly Cooper Series: A Brief Overview

The Sly Cooper series is a beloved franchise that revolves around the adventures of Sly Cooper, a skilled raccoon thief, and his gang. Developed by Sucker Punch Productions, this stealth-based platformer has gained a loyal following since its debut in 2002 on the PlayStation 2. The franchise is known for its unique art style, engaging gameplay, and captivating storyline.

The Original Trilogy

The original trilogy consists of three main games:

1. Sly Cooper and the Thievius Raccoonus (2002): This game serves as the introduction to the series. Sly Cooper embarks on a quest to retrieve his family’s stolen book, the Thievius Raccoonus, and avenge his parents’ deaths. The game showcases Sly’s stealthy abilities and introduces iconic characters like Bentley and Murray.

2. Sly 2: Band of Thieves (2004): In this sequel, Sly and his gang must recover Clockwerk’s parts, which have been stolen by the Klaww Gang. The game introduces new playable characters, explores new locations, and expands on the series’ gameplay mechanics.

3. Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves (2005): The final game in the original trilogy sees Sly and his crew attempting to dismantle the Cooper Vault to prevent it from falling into the wrong hands. This installment introduces new playable characters, such as Penelope and Dimitri, and features enhanced gameplay elements.

Spin-Offs and Remastered Versions

In addition to the original trilogy, there are several spin-off titles and remastered versions of the games:

1. Sly Cooper: Thieves in Time (2013): This game serves as a sequel to the original trilogy. Players control Sly and his gang as they travel through time to restore the Cooper Clan’s legacy. Thieves in Time introduced new gameplay mechanics and expanded on the series’ lore.

2. The Sly Collection (2010): This remastered collection includes high-definition versions of the original trilogy, allowing fans to relive Sly’s adventures on the PlayStation 3. The collection also features additional content, such as mini-games and bonus videos.

3. Bentley’s Hackpack (2013): This spin-off title features a collection of mini-games based on hacking challenges. Players can take on the role of Bentley, the series’ tech expert, and test their skills in various hacking scenarios.

Future Prospects

While there haven’t been any new Sly Cooper games announced in 2023, the franchise continues to have a dedicated fanbase eagerly awaiting news of a new installment. Sucker Punch Productions, the original developer, has shifted its focus to other successful franchises like Ghost of Tsushima. However, many fans remain hopeful that the thieving raccoon will return for more thrilling adventures in the future.


The Sly Cooper series has captivated players with its charming characters, engaging gameplay, and intriguing storylines. With the original trilogy, spin-offs, and remastered versions, there are several games that fans can enjoy. While the future of the franchise remains uncertain, the legacy of Sly Cooper lives on in the hearts of its dedicated fanbase.